Corn Chowder

IMG_2177This is exactly what I was hungry for on this particular day so I made it using what I had on hand. Lucky for me I had a can of corn or this would have been just bacon chowder, which might actually be good.  Maybe I’ll try that someday.

Ingredients:

1 8 oz can kernel corn – drained

3 pieces of bacon – fried and chopped

1/4 cup red onion – chopped

1 cup chicken broth

3 heaping tbs sour cream

2 tbs butter

pepper – to taste

Preparation:

In a medium saucepan, combine the chicken broth, corn, sour cream and butter. Let simmer as you cook the bacon and onions in a separate pan.  I like crispy bacon so I cook it for a good five minutes before chopping it up.  I love the taste of the onions when they are cooked in the bacon grease but be careful when transferring the onions and bacon into the broth since you don’t want to get any grease in there.  Add a little pepper as your tastes desire.

Stir it all together and let simmer for 5 to 10 minutes.  If you want, top this with a little extra sour cream and some cilantro!  This was a nice, warm and hearty lunch for one but double the recipe to cook for two!

One response to “Corn Chowder

  1. Pingback: Miso Clam Chowder Recipe | Nosh My Way·

Leave a Reply

