Hamburger Patties with Bacon and Garlic-Cilantro Mayo

IMG_2173This all came about because I had some bacon in the fridge that needed using.  And what goes better with bacon than burgers?  Since I don’t do buns anymore – I don’t think they even make buns that work for me! – I go bunless, but feel free to find a good gluten-free bun that works for you and make a whole burger!

Ingredients:

burger patties – this made enough for two

1/2 yellow onion – sliced

8 pieces of bacon

1/2 cup mayo

2 tbs chopped cilantro

2 cloves garlic – chopped

Preparation:

In a skillet, cook your bacon and set aside, but retain half the bacon grease in your skillet.  I like crispy bacon so I cook it for almost 5 minutes total, flipping it over halfway through.  Remove the bacon from the pan and set aside on a paper towel to drain off excess grease.

In the bacon grease, cook your onions for 2 minutes or until decently browned.  Add the garlic and cook for one more minute.  Keep them separate though in the pan!  Once cooked, remove everything from the pan, still keeping the onions separate from the garlic.  Still retaining the remaining bacon grease, add your burger patties. I got already formed patties so I didn’t have to make them myself.  Cook these for 4 minutes on each side.

As your burgers cook, combine your mayo, cilantro and garlic in a small bowl and crumble 2 or 3 pieces of bacon into the mixture.

To plate, put your burger patties on a dish (or a bun), top with onions, a couple of pieces of bacon and a spoonful of the mayo.

I served this alongside some asparagus and finished off a bottle of Carmenere wine! Delicious!

Leave a Reply

