Walnut Roasted Chicken

IMG_2112I love a good roasted chicken so I took my turkey recipe I got from Cooking Light magazine and applied it to a chicken – with some modifications of course!  Not much really, I just added green onions to the mix.  This was a sticky little bird and the skin would not separate from the flesh without tearing so I didn’t get the perfect crunchy skin but it was still moist and delicious!  To compensate the lack of skin, I covered it lightly with foil, like I would a turkey, but not as I would normally do with a chicken.  I usually leave my chicken open to the heat of the oven but in a pinch, use some foil placed very lightly over the top of your bird.

Ingredients:

1 whole chicken – mine was 4.5 lbs

4 tbs walnut oil plus extra for basting

1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese

3 or 4 green onions – chopped

pepper – to taste

Preparation:

Separate the skin from the flesh of the chicken and hopefully you won’t have a hard time like I did!  Rub the chicken with walnut oil under the skin.  Mix the parm and green onions together and rub that under the skin too.  Get into all the crevices by the wings and thighs!  Then dry the skin with a paper towel and season it with some pepper.

Remember to baste the chicken with a little bit of walnut oil every 30 minutes to keep it moist and juicy!

I quick-cooked my chicken, which means I cooked it first at 450 for 15 minutes, then turned the oven down to 350 and cooked it for the rest of the time, which turned into about 1 hour and 30 minutes.  Now, I use my trusty meat thermometer instead of relying on timing.  When the chicken in the thigh area is 165, it’s ready! But I give it 5 to 10 extra minutes after it’s hit 165, just to be safe.

Okay, that’s confusing, here’s what I do.  I cook my chicken on a rack for 15 minutes at 450.  Then I turn the oven down to 350 and cook it for an hour.  I check the temperature.  If it’s 165, I let it bake for 10 more minutes.  If not, I set the timer for 15 minutes and check the temperature again.  I find that 15 minutes extra won’t hurt it if it’s not yet 165 but it’s close.  You of course want your chicken to be thoroughly cooked!  This way too, if you aren’t positive of cooking times for a larger bird, you’re safe anyway!

My bird had a nice crispy skin – what was left of it – with the help of my foil covering, and was perfectly cooked!  It makes great leftovers too! And when in doubt about cook times, google it!

Leave a Reply

