Quinoa Pasta with Romanoff Sauce

IMG_2092I always loved romanoff sauce but I never took the chance at trying to make it until now.  Here’s what I started with – http://www.food.com/recipe/noodles-romanoff-241707.  Pretty nice recipe!  I just made some small modifications, including using quinoa pasta to make it gluten-free!  My recipe served two with a little extra for leftovers!

Ingredients:

5 oz shredded romano cheese

1 8 oz package cream cheese

3/4 cup water

3 garlic cloves – chopped

3 tbs fresh basil – divided

3 tbs butter

1 box quinoa pasta

pepper – to taste

Preparation:

First off, cook your pasta as directed on the box.  I find that with the quinoa pasta, I have to give it 2 or 3 extra minutes than what it says on the packaging.

In a sauce pan, combine the cream cheese, water, garlic and 1 tbs basil with a sprinkling of pepper to your desired tastes.  I like loads of pepper so I use 2 to 3 tbs.  Allow to simmer on medium until everything is well combined, about 3 to 4 minutes.  Then add the romano cheese.  Stir until the cheese is fully melted into the sauce and allow to simmer another 4 to 5 minutes.

Once your sauce is done, add the butter to the pasta then plate.  There’s two ways to do this – first put the pasta on the plate and top it with the sauce, or mix it all together!  I did it the first way.  Toss the remaining basil on top and, if you’re me and can’t get enough pepper, add some pepper to the top!

A nice, sweet red works well with this, but any red wine will really do it!  Try adding some chicken too, just for the heck of it!

Leave a Reply

