Cheesy Quinoa Pasta with Hot Dogs

IMG_2080I was a little leery about trying quinoa pasta, even though it was safe for me to eat.  I love egg noodles and, while I don’t eat them any more, most pasta just doesn’t hold up.  Now, I can’t say the quinoa pasta was perfect, but it was a great substitute!  I enjoyed it and I will definitely try it again. It’s gluten-free, rice-free and potato-free! Be careful though – not all quinoa pasta is alike and some contain rice or even wheat products!  Read the box!

Ingredients:

1 box quinoa pasta

2 hot dogs

1 cup pepper jack cheese – shredded

1 small can diced green chilies (or large if you like chilies)

pepper – to taste

1/2 red onion – sliced

Preparation:

Prepare the pasta as noted on the box and drain.  Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Cook the hot dogs as you desire – I did mine in a skillet – and slice them into bit sized pieces.  I then used my skillet to cook the onions until soft, about 3 minutes.

In a large bowl, mix the hot dog pieces, onions, the green chilies and pepper, as desired. Lots of pepper for me!  Add the pasta and stir everything together.  Then add 3/4 cup of the cheese and stir a bit more.  Dump everything into an oven proof pan.  Here’s the kicker – if you want a good amount of the crunchier topping, use a larger pan.  If not, use a smaller one.  9×9 or 6×6 or 4×4 whatever sounds good to you!  Top with the remaining cheese.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes!

You can mix this up with different cheeses, add some hot sauce for some spice or try different herbs.  There’s a dozen ways to do mac and cheese and I’m glad I found a pasta I can do it with!  Try a  good red table wine with this.

Leave a Reply

