Turkey Quinoa Soup

IMG_2077The big question today is what the hell to do with all that leftover turkey.  Since it was a rainy Friday here in LA, I decided to go for soup.  Now, I’m not big on the broth; I prefer the hearty turkey and veggies.  However if you enjoy the broth, just add more broth!  Eat it alone or top it off like I did with a dollop of sour cream, some green onions and cilantro!  And, because it’s me, I doctored it up with hot sauce and plenty of it!  Your herbs can be dried or fresh, whatever you have on hand.

Ingredients:

Leftover turkey – however much you want to use!  I wanted turkey in every spoonful so I just kept adding and spooning until I got what I wanted.

1 can kernal corn

1 yellow onion – chopped

2 cups chicken broth

2 cups water

1/3 cup quinoa

1 tbs rosemary

1 tbs thyme

1 tbs basil

3 tbs garlic salt

4 tbs pepper (cut back on salt and pepper if you want to)

2 cloves garlic – chopped

4 tbs gluten-free oat flour (or other gluten-free flour you might have on hand)

olive oil

Preparation:

In a large sauce pan, heat up a drizzle of olive oil and add chopped onions and garlic.  Saute until lightly browned – about 5 minutes.  Add flour and stir until the veggies are very lightly coated.  Add the chicken broth and water, stir to combine, then add the quinoa. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes on low to medium heat.

Uncover, and add the turkey then simmer uncovered for another 5 minutes.  Then add the spices and herbs.  For the salt and pepper, I continued adding until I had the taste I enjoyed.  I like my soup more on the salty and peppery side.  Simmer another 10 to 15 minutes, taste and add anything you think it might need to satisfy your soup taste buds.

Adding the sour cream, cilantro and green onions made me think of tortilla soup when I was eating this, so try adding some tortilla strips to it too!  Enjoy a nice, dry red wine with this!

Leave a Reply

