Gluten-free Apple Crumble

IMG_2054I’m a sucker for apple crumble.  I love the vast, cinnamonny taste of it!  Now in my new gluten-free lifestyle, I had to find a way to make it perfect again..so I did!  I’m super picky about my apples, but you can use whatever apples you like.

Ingredients:

6 honeycrisp apples – sliced thin – don’t worry about removing the skin or the core, just get rid of the seeds

4 tbs cinnamon (add more if you like lots of cinnamon flavor) – plus 1 additional tbs for topping

2 cups gluten-free oats

1 cup gluten-free almond meal

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 cup honey

3 tbs butter

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Slice the apples thinly. IMG_2053They should kinda look like that.  Toss them in a bowl with the 4 tbs of cinnamon and arrange them in a pie pan.  They don’t have to be perfect – or even lined up like mine – you can literally just dump them in and they’ll be fine.

In a separate bowl, combine the oats, almond meal, cinnamon and salt.  Add the honey and butter and mix until well combined.  The topping should be somewhat smooth but still a crumble topping.  If it’s too crumbly for you, add some more honey or butter. Evenly top the apples in the pan with the crumble topping.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes and serve hot!  You can even make this with my gluten-free pie crust, which is how I did it one time around.  It’s great with or without the crust!  I love a good apple crumble and the honeycrisp apples are perfect for it!  Go dairy free and add more honey to the mix.

Leave a Reply

