Gluten-Free Crab Cakes

IMG_2048This was a fun recipe that I sort of made up on the fly.  I read somewhere about making crab cakes with gluten-free crackers and I happened to have some that were safe for me (Glutino table crackers).  A package of crab later and I had some pretty tasty crab cakes!  Of course, I used imitation crab because the real stuff is way too expensive for my budget!

Ingredients:

8 oz imitation crab meat – chopped into small chunks (this was half a 16 oz package)

some cilantro – I used about 1/8 cup but feel free to use more or less depending taste

1 small Pasillo pepper – chopped

2 eggs

8 gluten-free crackers – crushed into fine crumbs (the Glutino ones I used are large sized crackers – you may need more depending on what you decide to use)

2 cloves garlic – chopped

olive oil

Preparation:

In a large bowl, mix all ingredients together, making sure the mixture is well combined and will stick together to form a ball or ‘cake.’   If it doesn’t stick, add an egg!  This made four good-sized crab cakes. Press the mixture together into equal sized balls. Flatten a bit on each side to make the cakes.

In a large skillet, coat the bottom with some olive oil. Heat it up and gently place in the crab cakes so they don’t break apart.  Cook for 2 minutes, flip and cook for 2 minutes more.  Flip again and repeat so each crab cake cooks for a good 4 minutes on each side. If you don’t want to flip them twice, that’s okay!  I just like to see how brown they are getting so I am sure not to over cook them.  4 minutes on each side with the flame on high worked perfect for mine, so the top and bottom were a bit crunchy.

Serve and, if you want, top with a little lemon juice and pepper!  A nice, sweet red wine goes wonderfully with this dish.  I served it alongside a caprese salad.

 

 

Leave a Reply

