Cod with Veggies

IMG_2046This was another occasion of ‘I have random food so I’ll put it together and make something.’  I had fish and a bag of carrots plus a bell pepper that needed using so I threw it all together in a baking dish.  It turned out to be a light and simple dish where I hardly had to do anything but turn on the oven.

Ingredients:

2 cod fillets

carrot sticks – as much as you like (I used the little ones that come peeled in a bag)

1 small bell pepper – sliced

1/2 cup chicken broth

1/4 cup lime juice

1 small shallot – chopped

pepper to taste

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 350.  Lightly coat the fish with some pepper on both sides.  Place it in an oven proof baking dish.  Pour in the chicken broth and lime juice and add the carrots and pepper.  Toss in the shallots and bake for 30 minutes or until the fish flakes.

At 30 minutes, your carrots will still be crunchy, which is the way I most prefer them.  If you want them soft, cook them by themselves in the chicken broth until they are as soft as you want them – between 15 and 30 additional minutes, or longer if you feel the need.  That’s it!  Done!  I love a nice, easy meal where I have little to do and not a lot of clean-up.  I don’t do it often but once in a while I like to kick back and let the oven do the work!  Try a nice bottle of chardonnay with this one.

Leave a Reply

