Rosemary Truffle Salt Deviled Eggs

IMG_2020Ever since I was in my twenties, I’ve had this weird dream about a cookbook called 1001 Deviled Egg Recipes (which may already exist somewhere some maybe I’ll need 1002).  I don’t know why but the only thing I can figure is that I really love deviled eggs. Not much else makes sense…anyway, I’m up to three so I have a long way to go!  Someday perhaps, when I’m old and grey, I’ll have 1001 (or more) recipes to share just for deviled eggs alone!  The truffle salt and rosemary really make these babies pop!

Ingredients:

eggs (this recipe is for 6 so double for a dozen – that’s all the eggs I had!) – hardboiled

1 tsp truffle salt

1 tbs rosemary – dried or fresh

2 tbs mustard

1 tbs mayo

1 tsp vinegar

pepper to taste

Preparation:

I’m lazy so here is how to hardboil an egg copied from my previous deviled egg post!

First, hard boil the eggs!  I cover them in water in a large sauce pan and boil for 15 minutes. The yolks are still bright yellow but cooked all the way through. Let the eggs cool a bit before peeling.  Peel the eggs and halve them, removing the yolk and placing it in a bowl.  Set the halved egg whites aside to fill later.

Mix the yolk in a bowl with the mustard and mayo first then add the vinegar.  Then add the rosemary and truffle salt and mix until mostly smooth.  A few yolk chunks never hurt anything though in a deviled egg recipe.  Give it a taste – you should be able to really taste the rosemary and salt with just a hint of the other ingredients, but if you feel overpowered, try a little extra mayo or mustard to cut back the other flavors.  I really wanted these to jump out when you bite into them, so I wanted plenty for some serious rosemary flavor.

Fill those egg halves with the mix!  Sprinkle them with some pepper or a few rosemary pieces as garnish.  You can try this with different kinds of salt but it might not have the same punch as using truffle salt.

Deviled eggs are also my pug dog’s favorite so when I make them, he sits and stares until he gets some egg white.  Deviled eggs aren’t complete without a pug dog stare.

2 responses to “Rosemary Truffle Salt Deviled Eggs

  1. Pingback: 306/365: National Deviled Egg Day | Eat My Words·

  2. Pingback: Deviled Eggs with Avocado- The Best Deviled Eggs You’ll Ever Eat | The Veggie Slaughterhouse·

Leave a Reply

