Jalapeno Chicken with Veggies – Spicy!

IMG_2012I think it’s obvious by now that I cook a lot of chicken…  Don’t fret, I bought some stew meat so I can get this chilly fall season off to a good start!  In the meantime, when I find a recipe I like, I like to play with it and see what I can come up with later.  So I took my sour cream and chicken broth sauce and added a variation of veggies to give it a kick.  Leftover veggies in the fridge made a nice side!

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

1/4 cup jalapenos – chopped (fresh or from a can makes no difference)

4 cloves – chopped

3 green onions – chopped

1 cup chicken broth

1 cup sour cream

1 tsp olive oil

Preparation:

For my chicken, I sprinkled it with pepper before cooking it but it’s not necessary.  The sauce will give it plenty of flavor on it’s own!  Cook the chicken in a skillet with the tsp of olive oil for 4 minutes on each side or until the chicken is mostly cooked through.  On medium heat, add the chicken broth, garlic, jalapenos and green onions.  Allow the broth to boil, cover and cook for 10 minutes at a slow, steady boil.  Add the sour cream and stir.  The sauce will be thin but it’s great for dipping chicken and veggies into it!  That’s it!

You can leave out the jalapenos for a sauce that isn’t as spicy but still tasty.  Add some onions or shallots to the sauce instead!

For my veggies, I had leftover corn, cauliflower and red onions.  I put those in a baking dish with some olive oil and pepper and cooked them at 350 for 20 minutes while I cooked my chicken.  Most smaller veggies like broccoli or Brussels sprouts will cook in about 20 minutes in the oven.

I went wine-less this night only because I couldn’t figure out what to open!  A nice Zin always goes well, in my opinion, with a good spicy dinner.

One response to “Jalapeno Chicken with Veggies – Spicy!

Leave a Reply

