Gluten-free Peanut Butter Rosemary Cookies

IMG_2008This sort of ended up being a mistake that turned into something pretty yummy.  I went looking for gluten-free peanut butter cookie recipes because I really wanted a peanut butter cookie. I found a ‘flour free’ recipe and thought I would try that.  Well, that didn’t turn out so well.  After following the recipe to a T, I ended up with cookies that did not bake.  Oh well!  I still had ‘dough’ left so I thought I’d do a little research on the web and found a site that was a huge help!  I wish I had saved it to share but I can’t find it… anyway, the basics of it was a 2 to 1 combination of sorghum flour and tapioca flour to replace any regular baking flour.  I had both so I used them, added them to the weird dough I had and created these!  They’re a little on the sugary side, which is fine for me, but go lighter on the sugar if you aren’t in the mood for super sugary.  Here’s how I made them and this is half of the regular recipe that didn’t work plus enough flour added to compensate for the leftover after cooking the first half.  Double it for more cookies!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup gluten-free peanut butter

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tbs vanilla

1 cup gluten-free sorghum flour

1/2 cup gluten-free tapioca flour

pinch of rosemary per cookie (or sprinkle them with sugar but rosemary gives them an extra flavor kick!)

Preparation:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (or not, it just helps with an easy, quick clean-up!).

In a medium sized bowl, mix the peanut butter, sugar, baking soda and vanilla. Stir until combined and add the flour in a little bit at a time, mixing until you have a nice dough.

Drop into balls about 1/2 inch around (roll them into balls, if you like, or just use a spoon or melon baller) on the cookie sheet and press down with your thumb in the middle of each. If you leave them in balls, you’ll end up with cookies in the shape of balls, which is also good, if you like that!  Add a little bit of rosemary into the depression and bake for 10 minutes.

This recipe made 20 cookies.  They are a little crumbly, but I’ve found a lot of gluten-free baking recipes are like that – both for cakes and cookies.  Still working on a way around that.  A little sugar sprinkled over the top of either your balls or into your thumb print shapes is yummy too.  Try a little sea salt for a salty sweet cookie!

Leave a Reply

