Corn Flour Crusted Chicken with Bell Pepper Sauce – Spicy!

IMG_2006I love experimenting with what I’ve got lying around and sometimes that just means trying a new ingredient in a basic sauce like chicken broth and sour cream.  I made this recipe really spicy, like my husband and I enjoy, but it can simply be a delicious bell pepper sauce if you don’t like the heat.  I used gluten-free corn flour, of course, and paired it with a simple baked asparagus but I sprinkled the veggie with cayenne, to keep with the spicy theme!

Ingredients:

2 chicken breasts

1 small bell pepper – sliced

2 tbs jalapeno flakes (or fresh jalapenos)

1/2 cup gluten-free corn flour (my chicken breasts were huge so if yours are small, 1/4 cup will probably do)

2 tsp hot sauce (I had Iguana Mean Green on hand but whatever works!)

1 tsp cayenne

1 tsp cumin

1 cup chicken broth

3/4 cup sour cream

olive oil – enough to coat the bottom of the skillet you cook your chicken in

Preparation:

On a plate or cutting board, mix your corn flour with the jalapeno flakes, cayenne and cumin.  Coat each chicken breast on both sides.  Cover the bottom of  your skillet with a light layer of olive oil.  Over medium heat, let the olive oil get hot then cook the chicken for about 4 to 6 minutes on each side or until cooked through.

For the sauce, I used a small skillet but a sauce pan will work okay.  I started cooking my bells before putting the chicken in its skillet and cooked the remainder of the sauce recipe while the chicken cooked so everything was done at about the same time.  Place your bell pepper slices in the pan and allow them to cook until generally soft.  Add the chicken broth and hot sauce, stir and simmer over medium heat for about 3 minutes.  Give it a taste – if you can taste the bell peppers in the sauce, you’re good!  If it’s not hot enough for you, add more hot sauce!  I did but, like I said, I like it hot!  Your sauce should be slightly reduced, but not much.  Add the sour cream and stir.  Simmer for 4 to 5 minutes.  Now your sauce should be getting a bit more creamy in consistency.  Even if your sauce is thin, like some people tell me theirs is, it’s fine. It’s all about taste!  So give it another taste, and if you’re crazy like me, you might want to add a little more hot sauce!  Spoon it over your cooked chicken and finished!

This was a heat-inspired meal that my husband loved!  Just remove the jalapenos and hot sauce for a nice, bell pepper sauce over your chicken. This goes well with a nice, dry red wine, maybe a Zin or even a not-so-sweet Shiraz.

If you want to make spicy asparagus, heat the oven to 350, sprinkle the asparagus with cumin and cayenne and bake for 20 minutes. Yum!

Leave a Reply

