Chicken with Mint Wine Sauce and Ginger Cauliflower

IMG_1997This was probably my favorite way to cook cauliflower! The chicken was pretty yummy too.  I made this mostly from leftover ingredients from previous recipes so I didn’t have to go out and buy anything for it myself.  Still, it was a pretty easy recipe and I got a jar of ginger paste for future use, so I always have ginger on hand.  I went for baked cauliflower this time instead of in a pan since my pan was in the dishwasher!

Ingredients:

For chicken:

2 chicken breasts

1 small shallot – chopped

3 cloves garlic – chopped

1/4 cup mint – chopped (after measuring!)

1/2 cup red wine (any dry varietal will work fine – I used a Yellowtail Bold Red)

2 tbs sour cream

For cauliflower (I used half a medium-sized head):

cauliflower florets – broken into smaller florets so they cook well

2 tbs ginger paste (or fresh grated ginger)

1 clove garlic – chopped

pepper – to taste

1 tbs olive oil

Preparation:

Heat the over to 350 degrees.  In an oven proof dish, place the cauliflower.  Drizzle it with olive oil, sprinkle with a little pepper, then coat with the ginger paste and toss in the garlic. Bake for 30 minutes or until soft enough to poke a fork through the largest pieces.

As your cauliflower cooks, chop your garlic, mint and shallot.  In a pan with a little drizzle of olive oil, cook the chicken breasts for 3 minutes on each side.  Pour in the wine, add the shallots, garlic and mint and cover.  Cook for 10 minutes on medium to low heat, allowing the wine to just simmer.  5 minutes in, flip your chicken and re-cover.  Add the sour cream once the cook time is up and stir to combine.  Top the chicken with the sauce and plate up the cauliflower on the side and done!

I opened a bottle of Apothic Red, since I used my Yellowtail for the sauce.  The chicken with its sweet wine sauce complimented the ginger cauliflower just perfectly!

Leave a Reply

