Oatmeal Waffle Cookies

IMG_1994So I found this recipe online when looking for gluten-free cookies however it didn’t turn out much like a cookie.  It’s more like a pancake…  As odd as it turned out, they were pretty tasty so I thought I’d include them among my recipes and hope someone could comment on a way to improve it!  I added the oats to the recipe since I specifically wanted oat cookies.  But seriously, they tasted like waffles with oats and had the consistency of a pancake.  I don’t think there’s a word for them as they really weren’t cookies and weren’t pancakes.  Maybe pookies?  Or wookies?  I initially used 1 cup of oats then added more to try to thicken the batter but it was still pretty thin in general.  If you have any suggestions, leave a comment!

3/4 cup butter

1/4 cup honey

1/2 cup sugar

2 cups gluten-free tapioca flour

1 egg

2 cups of gluten-free oats

1 tsp baking powder

Preparation:

Cream together butter and honey then add sugar once combined.  Add the egg and beat together.  Combine the baking power and flour then sift into batter.  Add oats and combine.  Bake at 350 for 10 minutes.

Now I could not get these to stay together into a single “cookie” so I made a full sheet and cut them into squares.  The batter was just too runny, so maybe more flour or sugar would help it thicken?  Still working on getting used to baking, since, as I’ve said, I’m completely lost on the chemistry of it all!  Once I have more practice maybe I’ll be able to create my own cookie recipes rather than trying out those of other folks, especially when they don’t exactly work out!  These made a yummy breakfast snack while on the way to work though!

Leave a Reply

