Swordfish Steak with Anaheim Chilies

IMG_1991When something this good is on sale at the store I can’t help but grab it and toss it in my cart.  I’ve never cooked a swordfish steak before…or swordfish in any manner…so I had to look up how to cook it.  I found a random recipe with Anaheim chilies and since I had one, I thought I’d modify it to my dietary restrictions.  If I were to do it again, the only thing I would change is the cook time, which was about 5 minutes on the stove and 10 minutes in the oven.  The fish was a bit dry, even with the sauce I made, so I think 5 to 7 minutes in the oven would have made an improvement.  The cook times below are based on my modifications but feel free to cook it as noted here.

Ingredients:

2 Swordfish Steaks

1 Anaheim chili

1 small shallot

1/8 cup olive oil

4 to 5 garlic cloves – chopped

1 lemon

Preparation:

Heat over to 375 degrees.  In an oven-proof skillet, saute the garlic and shallots until cooked through.  Toss in your Anaheim chili, either chopped up or whole, to roast it a bit, as well.  I roasted mine first but to save time, chopping works too.  Add the swordfish steaks and cook on one side for 4 minutes, the other side for 2.

Combine the roasted garlic and roasted, chopped Anaheim chili with the olive oil and the juice of the lemon.  If it suits you, add a little pepper to the mix.  Stir it up with a fork, top the swordfish steaks with the sauce and put it in the oven.  Bake for 5 to 7 minutes then remove and serve!

I served mine up with some broccoli roasted in the oven for 10 minutes.  I chopped up an extra garlic clove, drizzled the florets with olive oil and it made an easy side.  The fish was delicious and the flavor profiles of the chili and garlic went well together with its taste.

On a whole other note, once again I’d been denied by my insurance company. This was the last try my doctor had so now all I have to counter the diseases is to stick to my diet.  While there are some things it will never help with, hopefully after doing it for a while, the other issues will go away. Only time will tell and I will be sticking to my guns and eating only the foods my body seems to enjoy, one of which was this steak recipe!

Leave a Reply

