Sirloin Steak with Truffle Butter

IMG_1972That is one huge pile of butter on top of that steak but it was worth it.  After spending a fortune on truffle salt at the Farmer’s Market, I had to use it right away!  If they hadn’t have had samples available, I never would have bought it.  They suckered me in but I’m glad I did.  It made for a delicious butter to top my steak with it.  I had some leftover quinoa and kale that I cooked up for my side dishes and this made a really nice and simple yet elegant dinner.

Ingredients:

Sirloin steak

2 tbs butter

1 tsp fresh chopped basil

1/4 tsp truffle salt (or to taste as desired)

1 shallot

Preparation:

Chop up your shallot and fry it up with a drizzle of olive oil in a hot pan.  Add the steak and cook for 4 to 5 minutes on each side for medium to medium rare depending on the thickness of your steak.

While the steak is cooking, mix together the basil, truffle salt and butter.  The steak should rest for 5 minutes after cooking so I mixed up my butter while it sat. Then just plop that butter on top of that steak and let it melt away!

Having this with leftover quinoa and kale made for a nice, light dinner that was delicious and filling.  Plus…truffle salt?  Can’t go wrong with that!

Leave a Reply

