Herb Crusted Rockfish

IMG_1966I think I’ve said before that rockfish is my go-to fish.  It’s inexpensive, takes on the flavors of whatever I want it to, and doesn’t typically have any fishy taste.  I coated this in herbs and made a garlic browned butter that it soaked up as it cooked, giving it a cavalcade of flavors.  It was a yummy, quick dish to make and I served it up with my stuffed peppers.   I certainly do love to cook but I don’t want to spend five hours in the kitchen every single day to make meals so both dishes together took no time to make!

Ingredients:

rockfish fillets (I buy them in a single pack and cut them in half, for a light meal)

herbs de Provence – enough to coat each side of the fish – approx 3 to 4 tbs

1 tbs grains of paradise (pepper works if you don’t have any; you can find this spice at specialty stores and it usually comes in a grinder)

1 tsp red sea salt

1 clove garlic – sliced thin

2 tbs butter

Preparation:

In a large skillet, melt butter and roast up the garlic slices.  Don’t let it get too hot initially so a medium heat will do while you prep your fish.  On a plate or cutting board, combine the herbs, sea salt and grains of paradise. Mix them around and coat each side of the fish fillets.  Once your garlic is fragrantly filling the kitchen with yummy smells and the butter is melted, raise the heat a bit and toss the fish into the skillet.  Cook for 3 to 4 minutes each side.  Done!

This is a good dish to serve with a dry red wine and with just about any veggie side you want.  I personally would do cauliflower or asparagus, two of my favs, and just toss them in a skillet with some pepper so they don’t have a flavor that takes away from the fish.

Leave a Reply

