My Favorite Deviled Egg recipe

IMG_1961Look at that sexy little thing!  You’ll never believe what a sucker I am for deviled eggs.  My grandmother and mother both made them for almost all family gatherings and I have continued to make them myself for just about any reason.  I use a variety of different recipes but this one is my favorite.  While I modify it all the time to try new things, the base of it has stuck around.  The best thing about making deviled eggs is that eggs are one of my pug’s favorite treats, so while I’m preparing them, I have a very eager and very loud critter staring at me with his big marble eyes, waiting for his piece of the egg white.  And he always gets some!

Ingredients:

eggs (of course) – this recipe covers about 16 deviled egg halves

1/4 cup mayo

1/4 cup mustard (any kind works – for more flavor, try a dijon or stoneground)

2 to 3 tbs white vinegar

pepper to taste

paprika to top

a sprinkle of French thyme for each prepared egg

Preparation:

First, hard boil the eggs!  I cover them in water in a large sauce pan and boil for 15 minutes. The yolks are still bright yellow but cooked all the way through. Let the eggs cool a bit before peeling.  Peel the eggs and halve them, removing the yolk and placing it in a bowl.  Set the halved egg whites aside to fill later.

Combine the mayo, mustard, vinegar and pepper together with the yolks until smooth.  Depending on your tastes, add more mayo or mustard or even more vinegar.  Once the ingredients are combined, place a spoonful into the center of the egg white where the yolk was.  Top each with a sprinkling of paprika and just a few little bits of French thyme.  Done!

For a kick, add some Tabasco or cayenne pepper to the initial mix.  Top them with a bit of chopped chives.  Try adding a little garlic or shallot.  Use red wine vinegar instead of white vinegar.  There’s tons of things to do with deviled eggs and I always order them in restaurants if they are on the menu so I can try them out to make at home.

On a whole other note, I got a hold of a bottle of Hatch chili wine and wow, yummy stuff!

Leave a Reply

