Steak with Port Chocolate Sauce

IMG_1944Just look at this sexy steak!  I confess, I did not cook it but I did decide to try out the new ‘thing’ in steaks on my fam – steak and chocolate!  Now how can you possibly go wrong with that?  My brother-in-law loves his bbq for good reason (because it is beautiful) so he offered to grill them.  What a gorgeous piece of meat – the steak, not my brother-in-law…  The steaks were rubbed with a concoction of cocoa, chili and sugar and served with a port wine chocolate sauce.

Ingredients:

steaks!! (I used New York steaks)

For cocoa rub (for a single steak – double, triple etc for additional steaks)

1 tsp cocoa powder (I use Ghirardelli’s and nothing else will do)

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp chili flakes (or chili powder)

For port wine sauce:

1 cup port (ruby or tawny, your choice)

1 cup beef broth

1 tbs rosemary

1 tsp thyme

2 or 3 oz semi-sweet chocolate (bar or pieces, makes no difference and amount depends on how chocolatey you like your sauce)

1 tbs brown sugar

Preparation:

Mix your ingredients for the cocoa rub together then gently rub them into each side of each steak.  Set aside.

To prepare the sauce, combine port wine and beef broth in a sauce pan.  Cook until just simmering then add the chocolate and stir constantly until the chocolate dissolves.  I always add 1 oz of chocolate, taste, then add as much more as I need until I like the flavor then I add the rosemary and thyme.  Simmer until the sauce thickens a bit then add the brown sugar.  Allow to stand on the stove while you cook the steaks.

For grill or pan, 3 to 4 minutes per side works for a 1 inch thick steak for medium rare.  Let them stand a few minutes before serving.  I also served the sauce on the side instead of on the steaks to let everyone decide if they wanted sauce or not.

I served these steaks up with some of my favorite asparagus, cooked with olive oil, pepper and sliced shallots!  That is a crazy pile of veggies!IMG_1943

One response to “Steak with Port Chocolate Sauce

Leave a Reply

