Gluten Free Cornbread Muffins

IMG corn muffinsIn preparation for Thanksgiving, since I have a lot of recipes to try out, I hunted for days and found the perfect gluten-free, dairy free, etc free cornbread recipe…and then I lost it.  Well, I had already bought everything for it so I decided – after much unsuccessful hunting to find it again – that I would make something up!  I’m not a baker and I certainly don’t have Walter White’s understanding of chemistry so I had no idea what I was doing.  That said, these came out pretty good for winging it and I think my brother-in-law ate at least four on his own, which either says that he liked them or he was starving…not sure which.  I think I might try a little more corn flour and a little less corn meal on the next go around but substituting honey for milk seemed to work great!

Ingredients:

1 1/4 cup gluten-free corn flour

1 cup gluten-free cornmeal

1 can corn – 16 oz, 15.25 oz, whatever they come in

1 tbs xanthan gum

2/3 cup sugar

2 tbs baking powder

1/4 cup honey

1 cup hot water

Preparation:

Pre-heat the over to 350 degrees.  I made muffins so I prepared a muffin tin but a small square pan – 9 x 9 – would work also.

Combine the dry ingredients together in a bowl – corn flour, cornmeal, xanthan gum, sugar and baking powder.  Then add in the honey and water.  Make sure the water is hot but not boiling heavily.  I just microwaved a cup.  I really have no idea why this seems to work best but I do it with cakes.  My batter was thick, kinda like cake batter.  Then stir in the corn kernels.  Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

If you like to spice it up a bit, I bet jalapeno or cayenne pepper would be great with these!  Put a jalapeno slice on top for decoration or chopped up in the batter.  Add some extra honey to make them sweeter too!  Since our dairy-free family member wasn’t around, we served them up with butter.

Leave a Reply

