Chicken with Chimichurri

IMG_1935

This is more about the chimichurri than the chicken.  I adore chimi!  There are various ways to make it using lots of different ingredients but this is my favorite way.  I also created a nice mustard sauce to compliment not only the asparagus but the chimi chicken, as well.  Fresh ingredients make all the difference for a great chimi.

Ingredients:

Chicken breasts

For chimi:

1/8 cup chopped fresh basil

1/4 cup chopped fresh Italian parsley (regular parsley is fine but the flavor tends to over power everything else)

1/4 cup chopped cilantro

3 – 4 cloves garlic – chopped

1/8 cup olive oil

2 to 3 tbs red wine vinegar

Preparation:

In a blender, blend parsley, cilantro, basil and garlic with just a little bit of the olive oil and 1 tbs of the vinegar.  Once chopped, but not anywhere near pureed, add the remaining olive oil and red wine vinegar.  Blend to combine.  Taste it and see how you like it.  I tend to prefer a little extra cilantro, because that’s my favorite flavor of the three herbs.  Sometimes I’ll add some pepper or even some Tabasco, for a little kick.  It’s so versatile that you can play with it to make it exactly just how you like it.

Cook the chicken however you want to – in a pan, for about 7 to 10 minutes per side (my breasts were very thick – about 3 inches).  I used only pepper as my seasoning for my chicken.  Serve with the chimichurri because it’s all about the chimi!

For the mustard sauce:

1/8 cup stoneground mustard

2 to 3 tbs olive oil

1 or 2 chopped green onions

1 clove garlic

Preparation:

Spread your asparagus out on an oven proof pan.  Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper, if desired.  Cook at 350 degrees for about 10 minutes for the skinny asparagus, 15 to 20 for thicker ones.

For the sauce, in a small sauce pan, combine all the ingredients and whisk together with a fork.  Over low heat (I did this while I cooked my chicken), let the sauce simmer.  This sauce is also pretty versatile – I’ve added a tbs or two of Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, or vinegar.  IMG_1936Pretty sexy… The mustard sauce in this traditional form tastes the best with the asparagus.

Leave a Reply

