Healthy, simple oat snack

IMG_1934I love oats!  I’m very happy they come in the gluten free variety!  I found this recipe originally on zocalogourmet.com, which has a lot of great recipes, however their products are notoriously hard to find.  So I made my own variety of their Mesquite Peanut Butter Granola using oat flour.

Ingredients:

2 cups of oats – gluten free or otherwise

1/4 cup peanut butter

2/3 cup maple syrup

3 tbs flour – gluten free oat flour works great

Preparation:

Heat over to 350 degrees.  Mix all the ingredients together.  The website’s recipe says to mix the dry ingredients separate from the other ingredients but I have found that it doesn’t matter if you mix them all together.  Stir until everything is well combined.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.  Spread the mixture on the sheet.  It doesn’t matter if it’s one large spread or if it is broken up into bite size pieces or even molded into bricks.  I spread it out in one large square, about a 1/2 inch thick.  Cook for 15 minutes then break it up if you did the one square method.  I’m too lazy to make bite sized bricks.

Store in an airtight container and munch away! I’m munching on some now!  My friend’s little boy loves this stuff and it’s a good, healthy snack as long as you don’t eat it all in one sitting.  Plus you can make it sugar free with sugar free peanut butter and syrup, or add raisins, peanuts, etc.  Add whatever sounds good to you!  Someday I’ll even share it with my new niece, born exactly at midnight on the 25th.  Welcome to the world, Richey!

Leave a Reply

