Herb Crusted Chicken with Caprese Salad

IMG_1908 Sitting here, waiting for my sister to have her first baby, dreaming of a dinner I didn’t get to have so figured I might as well post this dinner from the other night and make myself hungrier!  I’m a sucker for a good caprese and I randomly found a bottle of Herbs de Provence at the store that had to come home with me so, of course, I used it.  I’m beginning to think that sitting in a maternity waiting room makes some people lose their minds but all I want is some food!!  This is a sour cream based sauce with the Herbs de Provence mixed in to create a nice burst of flavor.

Ingredients for chicken;

2 chicken breasts

1 cup sour cream

1 cup chicken broth

2 tbs Herbs de Provence for sauce plus another 2 tbs to coat the chicken

For salad:

1 large Heirloom tomato – sliced thin

1 tbs olive oil

1 tbs balsamic vinegar

sprinkle pink sea salt

fresh basil leaves

pepper

For mozzarella:

1 block of mozzarella cheese (doesn’t really matter on the size)

1 tsp fresh chopped basil

1 small shallot – chopped

2 cloves garlic – chopped

1 tbs olive oil

1 tbs balsamic vinegar

Preparation:

To start, marinate your mozzarella block.  In a Ziploc baggie, place the cheese (sliced into quarters if you wish), chopped shallot, basil and garlic then drizzle with olive oil and balsamic.  I also use a little black pepper though it’s not necessary.  Close the baggie up and shake it around until the cheese is coated on all sides evenly with the various ingredients.  Put the mozzarella in the fridge.

Slice up the tomato, place it in a Tupperware or a baggie and drizzle with olive oil and balsamic to coat.  Set aside or in the fridge with your cheese.  Save the pink sea salt for plating.

For the chicken, coat with the herbs.  Doesn’t have to be a thick coating, just a light summer coat will do!  Cook about 4 to 5 minutes on each side, depending on the size of your chicken breasts (for 2 to 3 inch thick breasts, do 4 to 5 minutes).  Once the chicken is cooked almost through, add the sour cream and chicken broth.  Stir to combine, add the rest of your Herbs de Provence, cover and cook about 5 more minutes.

While that’s cooking, plate your caprese!

IMG_1907Tomatoes go first, then the mozzarella sliced into blocks or thin slices.  Add the remnants of the shallots, garlic and basil from the marinade of the mozzarella.  I added my large basil leaf on top for presentation but I sliced it up when I ate my dinner.  The fresh basil makes all the difference in this dish!  Then, sprinkle the pink sea salt on top and, if you want, drizzle a little more balsamic.

Then plate up your chicken beside it, spoon the sauce on top and eat!  I wrote this all up and still no baby… sigh.  I’m positive now that sitting in a maternity waiting room does make some people lose their minds.  Oh well, I still love my family.

3 responses to “Herb Crusted Chicken with Caprese Salad

  1. Pingback: Buffalo Style Chicken Salad | Recipes for a Healthy You·

  2. Pingback: Herb Crusted Chicken in Basil Cream Sauce | Eating My Feelings·

Leave a Reply

