A go-to chicken stir fry

IMG_1905Look at that sexy, bubbly goodness!  Stir fry is what I make when I’m lazy or just have some veggies that are about to go south. It can be a mix of whatever basic veggies you have on hand.  In my opinion, soy sauce goes with tons of vegetables.  I love the saltiness of soy sauce and it’s not just for sushi!  If you aren’t supposed to have soy or if it is a ‘trigger’ food, peanut or sesame oil is also a great alternative.

Ingredients:

chicken – chopped into bite sized pieces or slivers

1 bell pepper – sliced

1/2 onion – sliced

1/4 to 1/2 cup soy sauce (or peanut oil or sesame oil)

3 or 4 chopped green onions

1/2 cup water

Preparation:

I’ve seen many different variations on stir fry but this is my favorite.  Start by frying up the peppers and onions in a little bit of soy sauce.  When the veggies are to about half your desired texture – I like mine really soft and black around the edges, add a bit more soy sauce – a drizzle or more, depending on your tastes – and stir.  Toss in the chicken, making sure each piece gets a good dousing of sauce.  Continue to stir until the chicken is cooked through.  Add the remaining soy sauce and 1/2 cup of water.  I taste my veggies to see just how much soy sauce I want to add.  Add the green onions and let the veggies and chicken cook for another minute or so, allowing the water to mix with the soy and create juicy chicken.  I always bring out the chopsticks to eat my stir fry!

You can add broccoli, cilantro, even cauliflower if you want to this recipe.  I’ve enjoyed many different veggies with my soy sauce!  I’ve also done this with sesame and peanut oil and I don’t use as much, because both seem very strong in flavor, but they are still tasty!

Someone asked me why I don’t put a time frame on my recipes – like 20 minutes prep time, 20 minutes cooking or whatever.  The reason is that everyone works at a different speed.  When I try to prepare a recipe in the time frame given, I always fail and it always takes longer.  That’s probably because I’m drinking wine while chopping… I don’t like to create any dishes that take too much longer than an hour in full to prepare and cook.  It happens but typically that’s my limit in the kitchen.  Otherwise I get bored or I drink most of my wine before dinner!

Leave a Reply

