Chicken, Pepper Boats and Cauliflower

IMG_1896 So I think I may have gone a little overboard with this one, but the idea struck me for the pepper boats as I was frying them in a pan and discovered the pepper’s shape just wasn’t working.  I chopped it up into three pieces and though, hmm…these would make great boats!  Originally I was going to chop it up and roast it with the cauliflower.  Glad I didn’t!  Cooked this while watching the oddly specific British show, Hit and Miss, which was pretty fantastic after all.  Yes, I love British television.

Ingredients

For chicken:

chicken breasts

enough lemon pepper and thyme to coat the breasts (2 tbs lemon pepper, 1 tbs thyme worked for my lone breast)

2 tbs butter

For peppers:

1 pasilla pepper – grilled and cut into two or three slices

1/2 cup crumbled feta (1/2 cup filled my pepper slices)

1 tsp cayenne

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp paprika

For cauliflower:

1 tbs olive oil

1 cup cauliflower florets – I chopped mine up small to cook faster

1 small shallot – sliced

1 clove garlic – chopped

pepper – as desired

Preparation:

Coat your chicken on both sides with lemon pepper and thyme.  Set aside.  Cut the pasilla into as many slices as needed in order for them to be flat enough to blacken in a skillet.  In a dry skillet, roast the peppers, skin side down, over high heat.  (Hint: when I do this, it makes my kitchen a bit smokey, but you can also do this directly over the burner instead of in a pan – seems to create less smoke.  Otherwise, be prepared to turn off your extra sensitive smoke detectors, especially if they are like mine and they talk!)

While the peppers are roasting, toss the cauliflower in the olive oil and some pepper, if you like.  You can even use the same lemon pepper used for the chicken coating but plain old pepper is just fine.  In a separate skillet (or the same one the pepper is currently cooking, if you only have one), cook the cauliflower, shallot and garlic as desired.  I like a bit of a crunch to mine, so I do it over low heat for about fifteen minutes, tossing occasionally.

As the veggies are cooking, toss the feta, cayenne, paprika and pepper in a bowl.  Set aside until the peppers are just about ready.  Once your cauliflower is to the desired texture and the peppers’ skins are almost fully blackened, remove them from the pan, fill the peppers with the cheese mixture and place them and their cauliflower buddies on an oven proof dish.  Stick the veggies in the oven, to keep them warm while you cook your chicken.

Using 1 tbs of butter, fry up the chicken in your skillet.  My breast was small this evening, about an inch thick, so I cooked my chicken 3 to 4 minutes per side.  I melted the butter in the center of the pan and put the chicken directly in the butter. Once you flip it over, add the other tbs of butter and cook the same way.  It should create not only a peppery crust but keep the chicken moist and juicy.

Though it wasn’t what I actually planned on making initially when I fished the pasilla out of the fridge, I was very pleased with the outcome and with the Hit and Miss series.  Yes, it is on Netflix.  You’ll know exactly what I mean by ‘oddly specific’ when you read the description.  Both the dinner and the show went well with my bottle of Apothic red.  Now I just need something for dessert… I also promise I do cook more than just chicken.

Leave a Reply

